Stitch On Sunday Blanket – Week Five

Stitch On Sunday Blanket Week FIVE

Hi lovelies

Here we are on week 5 of the Stitch on Sunday Blanket and this week we have something a little more intricate than last week.

If you don’t know what I’m talking about you can head here for the full explanation and start with week one.

Our week five square is called Chevron Lace, and it has these interlocking diamonds and zigzags that remind me of a mountain range.

Last week I went with a simple pattern repeat, so I wanted something a little trickier this week, but not too tricky.

The YouTube video for the swatch is now online so you can see exactly how to knit a full repeat, and there is also a video to teach you how to connect your knitting to the previous square as you work.

I send a weekly email to my mailing list, so if you would like an email once a week to remind you to work on your blanket, you can sign up here.

Please note, since the blanket squares started in January 2021, the emails you receive will start from week one. So you may see what is ahead long before you receive them. They will arrive weekly from the first Sunday after you sign up.

PIN NOW AND KNIT IT LATER!

For the entire blanket, I will be using James C Brett DK with Merino since I have lots leftover from when I was selling baby knits. It’s a warm and soft yarn which is machine washable and, frankly, I won’t use it for much else now.

I’m also using 3.5mm (US 4) needles as I like the tight-knit look that this gives the James C Brett.

Please feel free to use whichever weight, type, and style yarn you prefer. There are no rules on this blanket. I am really looking forward to seeing all the wonderful versions you create. The only reason I am telling you the yarn and needles I’m using is in case you do want it exactly like mine.

WEEK FIVE – CHEVRON LACE

ABBREVIATIONS

  • k – knit
  • p – purl
  • k2tog – knit two stitches together
  • yo – yarn over
  • ssk – slip one stitch knitwise and the next stitch purlwise. Slip both stitches back to the left hand needle and knit them through the back loop.
  • ( ) – work the instruction inside the parentheses the number of times stated immediately afterwards.
  • sk2p – slip one stitch purlwise, knit the next two stitches together, pass the slipped stitch over.
  • st(s) – stitch(es)
  • rep – repeat

PATTERN

Cast on 43 sts (44 sts if joining as you go -see video instructions for that here)

Row 1 (RS): k7, *k2tog, yo, k1, yo,ssk, k7, rep * from to end
Row 2 and all alt rows: purl
Row 3: k6, *k2tog, yo, k3, yo, ssk, k5, rep from * to last st, k1
Row 5: k5, *(k2tog, yo) twice, k1, (yo, ssk) twice, k3, rep from * to last 2 sts, k2
Row 7: k4, *(k2tog, yo) twice, k3, (yo, ssk) twice, k1, rep from * to last 3 sts, k3
Row 9: k3, (k2tog, yo) twice, *k5, yo, ssk, yo, sk2p, yo, k2tog, yo, rep from * to last 12 sts, k5, (yo, ssk) twice, k3
Row 11: k2, k2tog, yo, *k2tog, yo, k1, yo, ssk, k1, rep from * to last 9 sts, k2tog, yo, k1, (yo, ssk) twice, k2
Row 13: k1, (k2tog, yo) twice, *k3, yo, sk2p, yo, rep from * to last 8 sts, k3, (yo, ssk) twice, k1
Row 14: p

Rep rows 1 – 14 a further 3 times.
Cast off.

My square shows five repeats of the pattern, but after blocking, I realised this was too long so I’ll be pulling a repeat out. As I’ve said before though, make it work for you and the rest of your blanket.

See you next week for week six! Which means the start of our second blanket row!

Happy Knitting!

Kelly x

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started